We use strictly necessary cookies to make our site work. We would also like to set optional cookies (analytical, functional and YouTube) to enhance and improve our service. You can opt-out of these cookies. By clicking “Accept All Cookies” you can agree to the use of all cookies.

Cookies Statement and Privacy Statement

Safer Better Healthcare Standards


Defining Quality

Quality of healthcare is defined in many ways by different healthcare systems. One of the most widely accepted definitions is that of the Institute of Medicine, USA where quality is broken down into six domains: patient centred, safety, effectiveness, equity, timeliness and efficiency.

In Ireland quality is defined by the four quality domains set out in the Safer Better Healthcare Standards:

  1. Person centred - care that is respectful and responsive to individuals needs and values and partners with them in designing and delivering that care.
  2. Effective- care that is delivered according to the best evidence as to what is clinically effective in improving an individual’s health outcomes.
  3. Safe- care that avoids, prevents and minimises harm to patients and learns from when things go wrong.
  4. Better health and wellbeing - care that seeks to identify and take opportunities to support patients in improving their own health and wellbeing.

Definition of quality

Figure 1: Definition of quality within the Irish healthcare system Person centred Better Health & Wellbeing Safe Effective

Related Information





Last Modified Date: 20/04/2020 14:07:33